Sunday, February 19, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (02/19/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
  • On Wednesday, I talked about endings and beginnings at KellyApple.com. Working on the final book in a series is ROUGH sometimes. (Although, the final Grimwood book is going surprisingly well. GO FIGURE!)
  • I'm working on being more active on my author Facebook page. Reminders about upcoming books and other FUN things have been the flavor of the week lately. Feel free to follow me there so you don't miss out on any future goodies.

Saturday, February 18, 2017

Write On Review-a-thon [37]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, February 24th to Sunday, February 26th.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}


Friday, February 17, 2017

Grinder by Samantha Whiskey [Review]

 Grinder by Samantha Whiskey
Grinder (Seattle Sharks #1) by Samantha Whiskey
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: August 23, 2016

Seattle Sharks
1. Grinder - Kindle
2. Enforcer

Samantha Whiskey
| Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Gage McPherson was the Seattle Shark’s best Grinder, until he shattered his shoulder last season. Time heals all wounds...but the heartbroken single dad has more than his share of trust issues. The playboy only lets one girl close to his iced-over heart—his pint-sized daughter who’s the center of his world. She’s the only thing more important to him than hockey, and he trusts no one with her...except me.

We’ve been friends since we were kids, and I love his daughter like she’s my own, so what’s the easiest solution to help Gage out? Move in and be his live-in nanny for the season. As far as she goes, the arrangement is perfect. But her drop-dead-sexy father? Frustrating on every possible level.

There is a thick, professional line drawn between us by his own hand, and despite understanding the terms, my body is practically begging him to cross it. Our chemistry is off the charts, but one misstep, and we could hurt the one person we love most. This game is all-or-nothing. Can I risk my heart on a guy who is known for the shut-out, on and off the ice?
Thoughts on Grinder: I like sexy, growly hockey players who also happen to be kickass dads. Buuuut, I'm not sure how I feel about Gage taking his hookups home for some one on one time while his daughter was in the house. Especially considering there was zero chance he was planning on seeing said hookups again. That's a recipe for disaster, hunky hockey dude. A recipe for disaster.

Fortunately for Gage, he escaped any issues with that. Mostly because Bailey took care of things. Which makes her a-okay in my book. Come to think of it, once Gage realized he had feeeeeeelings for Bailey, she was a-okay in his book, too. And I, who am mortally opposed to keeping big secrets in books, actually didn't mind the one he kept. I could see where he was coming from. He was actually very upfront about everything, just not in the way Bailey thought.

That said, I also got Bailey's hurt. If someone took away even the hope of ever achieving a dream, it's easy to see how deeply that could cut.

Bottom line: Sexy, growly hockey players do it for me. Especially when they're also awesome dads who find their match in a big-hearted, determined lady.

Thursday, February 16, 2017

In Good Spirits by Michele Bardsley [Review]

 In Good Spirits by Michele Bardsley
In Good Spirits (Violetta Graves Mystery #1) by Michele Bardsley
Format: ebook
Source: free Kindle download 8/21/16
Date read: August 22, 2016

Violetta Graves Mystery
1. In Good Spirits - Kindle
2. A Spirited Defense
3. Getting in the Spirit

Michele Bardsley
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When Las Vegas cocktail waitress Violetta Graves is wrongly accused of killing her ex-boyfriend, she knows the odds are stacked against her. Still, she’ll do almost anything to avoid using her gift (hah!): the bad-luck-inducing ability to talk to ghosts.

Being considered a murder suspect by hunky homicide detective Matthew Stone motivates Vie to straighten out her priorities. She’s being framed by an unknown killer, her uptight sister has lost her ever-lovin’ mind, and the hot guy she can’t resist might have to arrest her. Vie has no choice but to turn to the supernatural for help, and try to remain in good spirits.
Thoughts on In Good Spirits: Super fast and quirky read. Vie is sort of...I don't know. Directionless. The story was short so there wasn't a lot of chance to delve deep into her as a character, but it felt like she was just kinda of drifting through life. Drifting while occasionally getting hit with the stick of terrible luck, as it turns out.

Because losing a small claims case against a douchey ex the same day you're suspected of his murder is FANTASTICALLY bad as far as timing goes. I mean, that's some serious motive there, amirite?

Cute, but I wouldn't have minded a little more story. Vie seems like she leads an interesting life. I just wanted more.

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Spotlight On... A Thousand Letters by Staci Hart

sbpr-atl-bt

"Lyrical, heartbreaking, and emotionally intense, A THOUSAND LETTERS is a beautiful portrait of an undying love that deserves a second chance."

Melanie Harlow, USA Today Bestselling Author


A Thousand Letters, an all-new emotional standalone by Staci Hart is LIVE!!!

cover-wrap-atl

Sometimes your life is split by a single decision.

I’ve spent every day of the last seven years regretting mine: he left, and I didn’t follow. A thousand letters went unanswered, my words like petals in the wind, spinning away into nothing, taking me with them.

But now he’s back.

I barely recognize the man he’s become, but I can still see a glimmer of the boy who asked me to be his forever, the boy I walked away from when I was young and afraid.

Maybe if he’d come home under better circumstances, he could speak to me without anger in his voice. Maybe if I’d said yes all those years ago, he’d look at me without the weight of rejection in his eyes. Maybe if things were different, we would have had a chance.

One regretted decision sent him away. One painful journey bought him back to me. I only wish I could keep him.

*A contemporary romance inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion*

ad-live

Read Today:

FREE in Kindle Unlimited!
Add to Goodreads: https://goo.gl/SORJXP


teaser-slave

About the Author

Staci has been a lot of things up to this point in her life -- a graphic designer, an entrepreneur, a seamstress, a clothing and handbag designer, a waitress. Can't forget that. She's also been a mom, with three little girls who are sure to grow up to break a number of hearts. She's been a wife, though she's certainly not the cleanest, or the best cook. She's also super, duper fun at a party, especially if she's been drinking whiskey.

From roots in Houston to a seven year stint in Southern California, Staci and her family ended up settling somewhere in between and equally north, in Denver. They are new enough that snow is still magical. When she's not writing, she's reading, sleeping, gaming, or designing graphics.

img_8015

Connect with the Author:

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

A Thousand Letters by Staci Hart [Review]

 A Thousand Letters by Staci Hart
A Thousand Letters by Staci Hart
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: February 8, 2017

Books in this series
Wasted Words
Tonic
A Thousand LettersKindle

Staci Hart
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Sometimes your life is split by a single decision.

I’ve spent every day of the last seven years regretting mine: he left, and I didn’t follow. A thousand letters went unanswered, my words like petals in the wind, spinning away into nothing, taking me with them.

But now he’s back.

I barely recognize the man he’s become, but I can still see a glimmer of the boy who asked me to be his forever, the boy I walked away from when I was young and afraid.

Maybe if he’d come home under better circumstances, he could speak to me without anger in his voice. Maybe if I’d said yes all those years ago, he’d look at me without the weight of rejection in his eyes. Maybe if things were different, we would have had a chance.

One regretted decision sent him away. One painful journey brought him back to me. I only wish I could keep him.

*A contemporary romance inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion*
Thoughts on A Thousand Letters: I went into this book expecting to have my cold, black heart ripped from my chest and displayed for everyone to see. I wasn't disappointed. Staci Hart absolutely killed me with her story of love, redemption, and second chances. There was also some severing of ties, which is sometimes what has to happen in order for someone to move forward.

Elliot and Wade. What can I say about them? They both made mistakes. They both got caught in the aftermaths of their choices. They both needed to make changes if this bittersweet thing between them was going to have any chance of becoming less bitter and more sweet.

Given that they were both dealing with grief and heartache outside of their own tangled relationship, they had plenty of roadblocks to get through. PLENTY. It took time for them both to get where they needed to be. It took soul searching and facing their fears head-on.

It hurt and it was beautiful and Wade SEEING Elliot when everybody else looked past her made me a teeny, tiny bit teary.

This one is for all the quiet women who love unconditionally, who choose to pick their battles, who stand up and roar when they need to. It'll break you in the best possible way. Promise.

Monday, February 13, 2017

Rejecting Destiny by Christi Snow [Review]

 Rejecting Destiny by Christi Snow
Rejecting Destiny (Through the Veil #3) by Christi Snow
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: September 6, 2016

Through the Veil
1. Through the Veil
2. Allied in Flight
3. Rejecting Destiny - Paperback | Kindle

Christi Snow
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
She has one final chance to embrace her destiny or lose it all.

Twenty years ago Bethany Harris fell in love with Aaron Vaughn, but then she shattered his heart. When the Veil fell two years later, she became the leader of the Western States. She wasn’t ready for the job, but she stepped up and did it. She couldn’t have done that without Aaron’s friendship and support.

Since then they’ve become lovers in the physical sense, but Bethany continues to keep her distance. She lost the right to Aaron’s love a long time ago.

Now things have changed. What once defined their world may no longer be true. With the turmoil that follows, Bethany must lead her people into a terrifying new era. She’s reeling and doubting herself more than ever. But when Aaron brings home her biggest challenge, it may be one too many.

To succeed she has to face her biggest fear...trusting the strength of the relationship between her and Aaron, or else risk losing it all. She could lose her job, her people, but most of all the man she’s loved almost her whole life.
Thoughts on Rejecting Destiny: I'm not SAYING this book made me teary-eyed or anything, but if it did it was because of all the weight Bethany's been carrying on her shoulders since she stepped in as the leader of the survivors of the Veil. The lady is strong, but she's also given everything to the people she's tried to lead and it's wearing on her. Throw in the changes happening in the Western States and the secret guilt she's been carrying for the past twenty years and you can see how she's a little overwhelmed.

Meanwhile, there's Aaron. He's stood beside Bethany through all the upheaval and turmoil. Together, they've kept their community afloat and given their people something to strive for. But he knows everything's not perfect with Beth and that she keeps her heart apart from him. Which, quite naturally, causes some problems.

I like how things are changing for the survivors. I'm not quite sure what these changes mean as far as the future is concerned, but there's STUFF going on. Stuff. Big stuff. Stuff that could mean great things for everyone involved.