Monday, August 21, 2017

(Dis)content by Melissa Haag [Review]

 (Dis)content by Melissa Haag
(Dis)content (Judgement of the Six #5) by Melissa Haag
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 23, 2017

Judgement of the Six
1. Hope(less)
2. (Mis)fortune
3. (Un)wise
4. (Un)bidden
5. (Dis)contentPaperback | Kindle
6. (Sur)real

Judgement of the Six Companion Series
1. Clay's Hope
2. Emmitt's Treasure
3. Luke's Dream
4. Thomas' Heart
5. Carlos' Peace

Melissa Haag
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
I hate. I thought I hated before the letter, before the werewolves, but now I understand that was nothing more than a chip on my shoulder. The urbat took what was mine. They will pay.

Isabelle leads a very normal life...for an emotional syphon. If not for Ethan and his bar, she would have lost her sanity long ago. But everything changes with the crash of her fighting cage and a man who transforms into a wolf. There’s something about Carlos—when he’s not growling at her—that makes her do things she wouldn’t normally do, like sigh and daydream.

Attraction aside, she is faced with the very real evidence that werewolves and urbat exist, and the urbat are after her. And the only way she can keep Ethan safe is to join with the werewolves and Carlos. It’s a race against time to stop a war, fight for love, and find the last Judgement.
Thoughts on (Dis)content: As the end of this series grows closer and closer, I have NO IDEA how things are going to eventually play out. I mean, I'm going to guess things end up well for our heroes, but HOW they get to that point is poking me with a stick something fierce.

So. Isabelle and Carlos. She sucks emotions out of people and had to get physical to release the effects of being a syphon. He's...well, we still don't know much about him. Carlos is our mystery. Intensely controlled, he's Isabelle's haven when things get too rough.

Buuuut it takes a while to get to that point. Because when you're a woman who can steal aggression and anger and fear and love, it takes time to earn your trust. It's only Isabelle is taken to the edge of her abilities that she goes all in with the wolves and the Judgements anyway.

Let me tell you, the edge is pretty intense. Heck, Isabelle is pretty intense. Carlos is an excellent foil for her and I'm ITCHING to get all of his story. I want to see what's in his head. Deep waters and all that.

Only one Judgement left. I can't wait!

Sunday, August 20, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (08/20/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!

Saturday, August 19, 2017

Bout of Books 20 Starting Line

 Bout of Books 20
Bout of Books 20 is here! Check out the Bout of Books blog to see the ins and outs of what to expect from this read-a-thon. Reminders for the daily challenges (if you wish to participate), Twitter chats, etc will be posted to keep you in the loop. Now, let's get our read on!

Time Devoted to Reading
I will be dedicating the entire week to reading.

My Goals
  • Read
  • Have fun!
  • Don't stress
Books to Read
  • Review requests:
    • Can't Let Go by Gena Showalter
    • Winter's Fury by C.E. Martin
    • How to Save an Undead Life by Hailey Edwards - READ
  • Random reads
    • After We Fall by Melanie Harlow
    • Hate to Want You by Alisha Rai
    • Rocky Mountain Freedom by Vivian Arend
    • Dragon Actually by G.A. Aiken - READ
    • The Phoenix Warrior by Ella Drake
    • Steadfast by Sarina Bowen
  • Rereads
    • Lover Avenged by J.R. Ward
    • Lover Mine by J.R. Ward
Updates

8/21
Number of books I’ve read today: 2
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Books read: How to Save an Undead Life, Dragon Actually
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/22
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/23
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/24
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/25
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/26
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/27
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

Final Thoughts:

Friday, August 18, 2017

Thomas' Heart by Melissa Haag [Review]

 Thomas' Heart by Melissa Haag
Thomas' Heart (Judgement of the Six Companion Series #4) by Melissa Haag
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 6, 2017

Judgement of the Six
1. Hope(less)
2. (Mis)fortune
3. (Un)wise
4. (Un)bidden
5. (Dis)content

Judgement of the Six Companion Series
1. Clay's Hope
2. Emmitt's Treasure
3. Luke's Dream
4. Thomas' HeartPaperback | Kindle
5. Carlos' Peace

Melissa Haag
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Thomas’ race is dying. To protect those left, the Elders create a safe haven. However, the safety of their sanctuary is threatened by the cause of their kind’s decline. A human. But, she’s not like the rest; and despite his hatred of humans, Thomas wants her for his own.

When females start dying while trying to reach safety, Thomas realizes it’s no longer just humans who pose a threat, but desperate males. Thomas must secure his place at Charlene’s side as leader of sanctuary, or everything they’ve worked together to build will crumble, and any hope of a future for Thomas’s race will die.
Thoughts on Thomas' Heart: Oh man, Charlene and Thomas. The things that poor girl has to go through before she feels comfortable the man fate has chosen for her. The biting. All that biting. Wolves, man. You can't bare your throat to them for a second or they take it as an invitation.

Okay, maybe that was a slight exaggeration. Thomas figures things out. Eventually. You know, after he gets over his seething hatred of humans and realizes that Charlene's fear is genuine. Considering what a good leader he is, his acceptance of Charlene is what gives the wolves a chance to continue surviving.

Beyond the relationshippy stuff, we get a deeper look into the tragedy of what has been happening to the female wolves. The Urbat are insidious and sly and they're working on plan B before the wolves even know there's a plan A. Or a battle at all, really. Which is very uncool, but those Urbat are kinda jerks like that.

Just a few more books until it all comes to an end. I'm both sad and excited about this.

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Luke's Dream by Melissa Haag [Review]

 Luke's Dream by Melissa Haag
Luke's Dream (Judgement of the Six Companion Series #3) by Melissa Haag
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 4, 2017

Judgement of the Six
1. Hope(less)
2. (Mis)fortune
3. (Un)wise
4. (Un)bidden
5. (Dis)content

Judgement of the Six Companion Series
1. Clay's Hope
2. Emmitt's Treasure
3. Luke's DreamPaperback | Kindle
4. Thomas' Heart
5. Carlos' Peace

Melissa Haag
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Luke’s been kicked in the teeth by fate enough to know: nice guys finish last. He’s done being nice and waiting for his due.

Finding Bethony, another potential Mate, was supposed to be his chance at a true Mate. However, she’s young and afraid and needs time to get to know him first. Bethony has different plans. She’s willing to Claim Luke, but only to stop her terrifying dreams; she’s not interested in love or romance.

The closer the pair get to the Compound, the deeper the danger becomes. Luke isn’t the only wolf looking for Bethi. He must choose between Bethi’s safety and peace of mind, or his dream of finding a true Mate.
Thoughts on Luke's Dream: Goodness, it's been a while since I read a Companion book and I'd forgotten how much I enjoy getting in the heads of the guys and seeing their side of the story. Heck, Luke's reaction to Clay alone was worth the price of admission!

But this book is more than just Luke snarking about Clay. This is about Luke finding the woman he's destined to be with and not knowing how to break through her fear. Honestly, I got her reaction. With everything she's seeing in her dreams, she's terrified of the fate she thinks is set out of her. Good thing Luke isn't the monster she thinks he is, right?

And good thing the women are finally starting to piece things together so they know what they're up against in the coming battle.

I'm determined to get completely caught up soon so I can go back and do a reread to experience it all over again. Just watch me.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Summer by Sierra Dean [Review]

 Summer by Sierra Dean
Summer (Dog Days #4) by Sierra Dean
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 4, 2017

Dog Days
1. Autumn
2. Winter
3. Spring
4. SummerKindle

Sierra Dean
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Cooper Reynolds has been missing for months.

The whole town of Poisonfoot, Texas believes he has run away, proving they were right not to trust him. They believe he left like his brother and father before him: another good-for-nothing Reynolds man leaving the small town in his dust. No one is looking for him.

No one but Lou Whittaker.

Lou knows Cooper was taken, she just doesn’t know where he is or how to get him back. With the help of budding witch, Max, and an unlikely ally in her former enemy Archer Wyatt, Lou is determined to find Cooper and bring him back in one piece.

But time is running out. Summer is upon them, and if they don’t find Cooper before his 18th birthday, they’ll be bringing home a wild animal instead of their beloved friend.
Thoughts on Summer: Good gravy, this was a satisfying ending to this series. SO SATISFYING. Cooper and Lou got their ending. The curse was dealt with. Danger and heartache and magic were all mashed up in a glorious mix. *le sigh*

But before we got to that point, Lou and Cooper's family had to deal with his disappearance. Meanwhile, Cooper was trapped in a terrible place with some terrible people. The Wyatts were being typically Wyatt-ish and that NEVER works out well for the good guys, does it?

Again, this was just such a satisfying ending. Everyone got what they needed/wanted and a few people got things they never thought they'd get. I am pleased.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

The Hooker and the Hermit by L.H. Cosway & Penny Reid [Review]

 The Hooker and the Hermit by L.H. Cosway & Penny Reid
The Hooker and the Hermit (Rugby #1) by L.H. Cosway & Penny Reid
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 21, 2017

Rugby
1. The Hooker and the Hermit - Paperback | Kindle
2. The Player and the Pixie
3. The Cad and the Co-ed

L.H. Cosway
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Penny Reid
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
New York’s Finest
Blogging as *The Socialmedialite*
April 22
LADIES AND GENTS! I have an announcement!

You know that guy I featured on my blog a few months ago? The really, really hot Irish rugby player who plays the position of ‘hooker’ in the RLI (Rugby League International)? The one with the anger management issues, the body of a gladiator and the face of a movie star? The one with the questionable fashion choices leading me to ask whether he was the lovechild of a leprechaun and a hobbit? Ronan Fitzpatrick? Yeah, that guy.

Well, I have a confession to make…

THE HERMIT

Annie Catrel, social media expert extraordinaire at Davidson & Croft Media and clandestine celebrity blogger, can make anyone shine in the court of public opinion. She is the Socialmedialite, anonymous creator of New York’s Finest and the internet’s darling. Virtual reality is Annie’s forte, but actual reality? Not so much.

THE HOOKER

Ronan Fitzpatrick, aka the best hooker the world of rugby has seen in decades, despises the media—social or otherwise. The press has spun a web of lies depicting him as rugby’s wild and reckless bad boy. Suspended from his team, Ronan has come to Manhattan to escape the drama, lay low, fly under the radar. Only, Ronan isn’t easy to overlook, and he can’t escape the notice of the Socialmedialite…

THE PLAN

When Ronan is sent to Davidson & Croft Media to reshape his public image, he never expects to cross paths with shy but beautiful Annie, nor does he expect his fierce attraction to her. He couldn’t be happier when her boss suggests pairing them together.

What lengths will Annie take to keep her virtual identity concealed? And what happens when the hooker discovers who the hermit really is?
Thoughts on The Hooker and the Hermit: I became a dedicated Penny Reid fan a couple books back (Fangirl. I mean a die-hard fangirl. Just so we're clear) and I've never regretted anything less than this. ANYTHING. I love her writing and I'm GIDDY beyond belief to read anything by her whether it's co-written or singly-written. That said, I think this book gave me a new author to send smoldering looks toward. Well played, author duo. Well played.

Soooo... Ronan and Annie. He's got a bit of bite and swagger, she hides behind baggy clothes and a failure to make eye contact. She doesn't hide online, though. Well, she does. That whole anonymity thing, but she's her under the fake name and sass. She's the Annie she would be if her social anxiety didn't tangle her up. Ronan sees all her hangups and likes her anyway.

Then he more than likes her and things get interesting. GLORIOUSLY INTERESTING!

I seriously can't wait to watch the other members of Ronan's team fall for their special lady friends.