Sunday, October 23, 2016

RtP Week in Review (10/23/16)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights

Saturday, October 22, 2016

Write On Review-a-thon [33]

 Write On Review-a-thon
There's another review-a-thon weekend coming up! I'm in!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, October 28th to Sunday, October 30th.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming coon}

Friday, October 21, 2016

Hold Your Breath by Katie Ruggle [Review]

 Hold Your Breath by Katie Ruggle
Hold Your Breath (Search and Rescue #1) by Katie Ruggle
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: June 9, 2016

Search and Rescue
0.5. On His Watch
1. Hold Your Breath - Kindle
2. Fan the Flames
3. Gone Too Deep
4. In Safe Hands

Katie Ruggle
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
In the remote Rocky Mountains, lives depend on the Search & Rescue brotherhood. But in a place this far off the map, trust is hard to come by and secrets can be murder...

As the captain of Field County's ice rescue dive team, Callum Cook is driven to perfection. But when he meets new diver Louise "Lou" Sparks, all that hard-won order is obliterated in an instant. Lou is a hurricane. A walking disaster. And with her, he's never felt more alive...even if keeping her safe may just kill him.

Lou's new to the Rockies, intent on escaping her controlling ex, and she's determined to make it on her own matter how tempting Callum may be. But when a routine training exercise unearths a body, Lou and Callum find themselves thrust into a deadly game of cat and mouse with a killer who will stop at nothing to silence Lou-and prove that not even her new Search and Rescue family can keep her safe forever.
Thoughts on Hold Your Breath: I got hooked on this Search and Rescue team with Derek's novella and wanted MORE. So picked up Cal and Lou's story and OH, YEAH. Dead bodies, stalkers, blizzards...EVERYTHING A GIRL COULD WANT.

That everything was before I even mentioned Cal and his sweetly uptight ways. His organizational skills put even mine to shame and I was impressed. I adored how Lou liked making him tongue-tied. I liked how intense he got once he let his walls drop and admit he had feelings for Lou.

Awww. Callum and Lou were just so darn cute together.

Let's face it, Lou is exactly what Cal needs to start enjoying life again. Even if the enjoying part comes part and parcel with figuring out who the dead body is and how it ended up where it did.

With a solid cast of characters and plenty of both amusing and danger-laden moments, I'm eager to get to book 2. Which I will be doing RIGHT NOW.

Thursday, October 20, 2016

On His Watch by Katie Ruggle [Review]

 On His Watch by Katie Ruggle
On His Watch (Search and Rescue #0.5) by Katie Ruggle
Format: ebook
Source: free Kindle download 4/2/16
Date read: June 7, 2016

Search and Rescue
0.5. On His Watch - Kindle
1. Hold Your Breath
2. Fan the Flames
3. Gone Too Deep
4. In Safe Hands

Katie Ruggle
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
In the remote Rocky Mountains, lives depend on the Search & Rescue brotherhood. But in a place this far off the map, trust is hard to come by and secrets can be murder...

Ice rescue diver Derek Warner never meant to be a hero. But when two little girls go missing, he's the first in line to bring them home-even if that means scouring the wilderness with the woman he once loved and lost, Artemis Rey.

Artemis has never stopped wanting Derek. Now, racing to find the girls before it's too late, minutes turn to hours. Night falls. Old flames rekindle. And a danger grows in the darkest wilderness that may be more than even the Search and Rescue brotherhood can hope to face...
Thoughts on On His Watch: Whoa. Who knew ice rescue diving could be so hot? Not that it's hot. Or that the rescue itself was hot. But Derek was hot. SMOKIN' HOT. Without the smoke. Wow. I'd better rein this in before I go crazy with the hot ice diver word play. RIGHT?

Anywho. Derek and Artemis. Old flames. Things went south because Derek didn't want to mess up her life. He turned his life around, she's the forgiving sort and, well, forgave him for being a douchenozzle and making decisions without talking things through. They kiss and make up. IN the snow. While sharing body heat. Which is one of my favorite snow-situations EVER and I will gladly devour anything that forces people into close proximity so they don't freeze to death.

What? It's a thing I like. I make no apologies for that.

Solid characters with some nice setup for future books (both with the characters and the threat of arson hanging over them). I'm already eyeballing the next books in the series.

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Black Ice Heart by Ella Drake [Review]

 Black Ice Heart by Ella Drake
Black Ice Heart (Space Grit #1) by Ella Drake
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: June 7, 2016

Space Grit
1. Black Ice HeartKindle
2. Kilt in Space
3. Freeker
4. Willing Skin
5. Killer Mate

Ella Drake
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Condemned and in transit to an asteroid prison, he found what he'd never had before--a chance to love.


Ensign Joan Holly has one last mission before transferring to a secretive, elite unit, the Nex. It's what she's wanted since joining the military as a child. All she has to do is escort the most reviled prisoner on Geonate to meet his fate. Simple, since he's immobilized and nobody has ever escaped the Asteroid Pit.

Cenak Bronson never had it easy. He's never been free and never had a future. He accepts his doomed fate until he's rescued by a band of half-aliens, the Scoriah. After the chaos of his breakout, Cenak finds himself reluctantly bound to the only other survivor, his jailer Joan.

But they aren't the sole survivors by coincidence and they weren't captured by the Scoriah randomly. To survive, they join forces, uncovering secrets and lies that change everything. Including the future of Geonate itself.
Thoughts on Black Ice Heart: I read this series out of order, so I wasn't entirely certain if I'd enjoy Cenak and Joan's book as much as the others because the Scoriah weren't the main characters. NO WORRIES, Y'ALL! Cenak is all types of screwed up and I liked him JUST FINE. (He has some very Scoriah-like mannerisms--mostly the way he likes to spontaneously brawl with people. THAT AMUSES ME!)

Frankly, Joan and Cenak are an unlikely pair. She's gunning to join her planet's version of special ops and he's a convicted murderer. Except, Joan doesn't know the half of what the Nex are capable of and Cenak is at the center of all of it. Which makes them having to rely on one another fun in a cutting sort of way.

For all I knew (and liked) the Scoriah from previous books (again, read out of order), it took a while for me to warm up to these guys. I blame that on their "Mother" and the things she made them do. She was a nasty sort, that one.

To make a long story short, I liked this one. It was dark and sometimes bloody and it gave me aliens and danger and an unlikely romance all rolled into one. YES!

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Tonic by Staci Hart [Review]

 Tonic by Staci Hart
Tonic by Staci Hart
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: October 12, 2016

Books in this series
Wasted Words
Tonic - Paperback | Kindle

Staci Hart
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Joel Anderson doesn’t take anything seriously.

Not his relationships, which have been few and far between since his brutal divorce. Not the drama of working in a tattoo parlor, which seems to be around every corner. When things get him down, he smiles and cracks a joke. But he’s not the kind of man you cross, or you’ll find yourself at the wrong end of his fists.

Annika Belousov takes everything seriously.

Like her job as a reality television producer, given that she typically has something to prove. Or her love life, which is defined by a series of requirements — affluent, ambitious, accomplished, to name a few. Definitely her family, who worked their whole lives to afford her every opportunity, a sacrifice she doesn’t take lightly. When she’s tapped to produce a reality show at Joel’s shop, she doesn’t think twice, just goes in for the kill, as if there were any other way.

The second Annika walks into Joel’s shop, he makes it his mission to crack her open, but she’s not having it. He’s all wrong — too crass, too hairy, too un-serious. But it doesn’t take her long to find out there’s more to him than smirks and tattoos. And what she finds could put her career and his heart on the line.

Not that Joel cares. Because for the first time in a long time, he’s found his tonic.
Thoughts on Tonic: (I probably say what I'm about to say about EVERY Staci Hart book I read, but it's so true. SO true.) Staci Hart kills me with her characters. Kills me dead. They're flawed and lovely and sometimes a little rough around the edges and, holy smokes, I love them.

She also slays with the buildup to the bad moment. You can feel it coming. Man, can you feel it. You might not know exactly how it's going to play out, but you can see the house of cards teetering and you know when that moment hits everything's going to fall apart for these poor guys. (Spoiler: Hart puts her characters back together just as beautifully as she steers them into their downfall. It's brutal and glorious. Just the way I like it.)

So. Joel and Annika. At first glance, they're perfectly opposite. He's rough and boisterous, she's polished and contained. He pulls, she pushes. They're all wrong until they're all right. And you can practically taste their fallout hovering around the edges of their fast and furious relationship. The situation they're in lends itself to volatility. No matter what they both might say.

Brutal and glorious, my friends. Brutal and glorious.

As always, I enjoy the glimpses and mentions we get of previous characters and the comfortable feel of the world created. Even when everything falls apart, it's lovely to see.

*slow thumbs up*

About the Author:

Staci has been a lot of things up to this point in her life -- a graphic designer, an entrepreneur, a seamstress, a clothing and handbag designer, a waitress. Can't forget that. She's also been a mom, with three little girls who are sure to grow up to break a number of hearts. She's been a wife, though she's certainly not the cleanest, or the best cook. She's also super, duper fun at a party, especially if she's been drinking whiskey.
From roots in Houston to a seven year stint in Southern California, Staci and her family ended up settling somewhere in between and equally north, in Denver. They are new enough that snow is still magical. When she's not writing, she's reading, sleeping, gaming, or designing graphics.

Monday, October 17, 2016

Hell or High Water by Hailey Edwards [Review]

 Hell or High Water by Hailey Edwards
Hell or High Water (Gemini #3) by Hailey Edwards
Format: ebook
Source: provided through Netgalley
Date read: June 23, 2016

1. Dead in the Water
2. Head Above Water
3. Hell or High Water - Kindle

Hailey Edwards
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Camille Ellis has gone rogue agent, and there’s no turning back now. The conclave might have put the Charybdis case to bed, but Cam isn’t willing to let it lie. No badge doesn’t mean no backup these days.

As mate to an alpha warg, she has access to new and lethal resources. A whole pack full of them. And they all want justice for the sins committed against them.

But the stakes are higher than she knows, the secrets exposed darker than she feared, and the cost of winning higher than she ever imagined.
Thoughts on Hell or High Water: HELLOOOO, Cam and Graeson! They're back and dealing with all sorts of crazy stuff. AS USUAL. Not only is Cam learning the ins and outs of being the co-alpha of a warg pack, she's also trailing the clues Charybdis has been leaving for her and it's MESSY.

In the best kind of way.

There are some not-so-great family dynamics that pop up in this book. While I understand why her family did what they did, part of me wanted more anger from Cam when she came face to face with it. Again, I get where they were coming from, but my cold, black heart is vengeful and she was very understanding. (I totally own that I might be a wee bit evil, though, so this may just be me.)

I still adore Cam and Graeson together. I love how patient he was with her and how he was willing to bend his alpha tendencies to accommodate her. *squishy hugs for the both of them* I also liked that Cam could see the changes she had to make in herself in order to feel worthy of Graeson's love.

I am RIDICULOUSLY excited to know that this isn't the end of these characters. I've enjoyed all of them from top to bottom and will gladly wallow in more books set in this world.