Wednesday, May 24, 2017

The Vampire's True Love Trials by Kristen Painter [Review]

 The Vampire's True Love Trials by Kristen Painter
The Vampire's True Love Trials (Nocturne Falls) by Kristen Painter
Format: ebook
Source: provided as part of the Taming the Vampire anthology
Date read: November 2, 2016

Nocturne Falls
1. The Vampire's Mail Order Bride
2. The Werewolf Meets His Match
3. The Gargoyle Gets His Girl
4. The Professor Woos the Witch
4.5. The Witch's Halloween Hero
4.6. The Werewolf's Christmas Wish
5. The Vampire's Fake Fiancee
5.5. The Vampire's Valentine Surprise
6. The Shifter Romances the Writer
6.5. The Vampire's True Love Trials - Kindle

Kristen Painter
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Vampire Sebastian Ellingham wants one thing: to marry Tessa Blythe, the Valkyrie he's fallen madly in love with/ So meeting her parents seems like the natural thing to do. He's even looking forward to it, until he discovers they've already found her a husband. Now the only way to keep Tessa in his life is to complete a series of tests meant for a very different kind of supernatural. And failing means losing her forever.
Thoughts on The Vampire's True Love Trials: This short story reminded me how much I enjoy the wacky shenanigans of the residents of Nocturne Falls. I haven't read Sebastian and Tessa's book yet (something I plan on fixing mighty soon), but I do like a good romance starring cross-species lovers. Vampires and Valkyries, OH MY!

I wasn't as enamored of Tessa's parents choosing her future husband for her, but different strokes for different folks, I guess. When your family is all about carrying on the Valkyrie/Berserker bloodlines and you don't seem to have any prospects, an arranged marriage could be viewed as a good thing. Too bad Tessa already has her dude. I'm thinking she should have told her parents about Sebastian at some point before, but...SHENANIGANS!

Vampires and Valkyries, my friends. They work for me.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Stolen Legacy by Lindsay Buroker [Review]

 Stolen Legacy by Lindsay Buroker
Stolen Legacy (Sky Full of Stars #3) by Lindsay Buroker
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: May 18, 2017

Sky Full of Stars
1. The Rogue Prince
2. Angle of Truth
3. Stolen LegacyKindle

Lindsay Buroker
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Even though Captain Jelena Marchenko has Starseer talents, such as telepathy and telekinesis, she grew up feeling ostracized from the Starseer community. She longs for an opportunity to prove that she deserves a place among them.

When an old friend of the family shows up, seeking transportation to the site of an ancient Starseer relic, Jelena believes this may be her chance to prove herself. If she helps Abelardus recover an artifact that's important to the Starseer community, maybe she’ll finally be invited to join.

Only when she and her crew are on the way does she start to question what Abelardus plans to do with the artifact and if he has the right to dig it up. Further, she wonders why it’s been left alone for centuries. Is there a reason nobody tried to recover it before? And is it worth risking the lives of herself and her crew to win the good regard of strangers?
Thoughts on Stolen Legacy: Like mother, like daughter, amirite?!?! Relics and danger and sometimes questionable allies all wrapped up in a spaceship that everybody underestimates. Or maybe it's the ship's captain who gets underestimated. Either way. Nobody expects the Snapper (or her crew) to do what they do.

Or to get out of the tight situations they invariably find themselves in.

With the addition of a handful of temporary guests, we get to see a different dynamic settle over the crew. While Jelena loves captaining, she's still uncertain if the choices she's making for the ship and crew are the right ones. Considering Thor's sometimes bloody focus on following the path his father set down for him, Jelena's desire to not seek out harm (on herself or others)... well, let's just say he's starting to consider that the path he's following might not be the only one available to him.

*stares at everyone with my gleeful eyes*

(Seriously, I really like the conflict in Thorian. He's been forged into a weapon, but that doesn't mean he doesn't have options. Plus, I'm endlessly holding out hope that Jelena's more optimistic outlook on life will rub off on Thor.)

Old friends (of a sort), plenty of dangerous situations, and one idealistic, young captain all come together to give us a new adventure across the stars.

Monday, May 22, 2017

Alpha's Revenge by N.J. Walters [Review]

 Alpha's Revenge by N.J. Walters
Alpha's Revenge (Project Alpha #3) by N.J. Walters
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: November 7, 2016

Project Alpha
1. Embracing Silence
2. Assassin's Awakening
3. Alpha's RevengeKindle

N.J. Walters
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A war reaches its endgame, but the heat between two unlikely lovers could set fire to all that Resistance forces have achieved. Don't miss the final installment of the Project Alpha trilogy by New York Times bestselling author N.J. Walters.

Adrian is a flawless Alpha assassin and avenging enforcer of the Resistance, devoted to the destruction of the oppressors. The first rule of empowerment? Never trust a stranger.

Then comes Charity, a woman desperate to relinquish her heart and secrets to the cause, and just as eager to surrender her body to its rebel leader. She's more than proved her loyalty—she's become the most desirable and valuable weapon Adrian has.

Charity Caruthers, daughter of the inner city's brutal General, risked her life to escape into the underground. Now she's Adrian's last hope to infiltrate the tyrant's lair and blow it to hell.

As her feelings for Adrian turn deeper and more dangerous with every move they make, it becomes clear. The greatest defense they can stage? Love.
Thoughts on Alpha's Revenge: Yep, soldiers created to be stronger, faster, and more dangerous than most and who find themselves enraptured by a special lady friend are my weakness. Adrian certainly fits the bill on all counts. Besides the obvious physical prowess, he is enthralled by Charity from the first moment he lays eyes on her.

The fact she's the General's daughter makes things a little tense. Well, tense-ish. More with the others than with Adrian. You know how Alphas are. They see what they want and they go for it, regardless of the obstacles in their path.

Along with the scorching romancing going on, there's also some nice resolution to the issues with the city and the Resistance. Danger! Romance! Heartache! All the things a girl needs in a book about enhanced soldiers and the women who love them!

Sunday, May 21, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (05/21/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • If you're not following Bout of Books on Instagram AND you love behind the scenes exclusives, now might be a good time to hop over there and hit that follow button. I have THINGS planned, people. THINGS.

Saturday, May 20, 2017

Write On Review-a-thon [40]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, May 26th to Sunday, May 28th.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}


Friday, May 19, 2017

Barbarian's Taming by Ruby Dixon [Review]

 Barbarian's Taming by Ruby Dixon
Barbarian's Taming (Ice Planet Barbarians #9) by Ruby Dixon
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: October 29, 2016

Ice Planet Barbarians
1. Ice Planet Barbarians
2. Barbarian Alien
3. Barbarian Lover
4. Barbarian Mine
5. Ice Planet Holiday
6. Barbarian's Prize
7. Barbarian's Mate
7.5. Having the Barbarian's Baby
7.6. Ice Ice Babies
8. Barbarian's Touch
8.5. Calm
9. Barbarian's TamingKindle
9.5. Aftershocks
10. Barbarian's Heart
11. Barbarian's Hope
12. Barbarian's Choice
13. Barbarian's Redemption
14. Barbarian's Lady

Ruby Dixon
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
As a newcomer to the alien tribe, I've struggled to find my place. It might be because I'm a tad headstrong at times. And yes, I might have thrown a few things at people's heads. But I had a good reason to pitch a fit - my shy sister was stolen away right under my nose. Of course, now she's back and mated. Everyone's happy...except me.

I need...affection.
Attention.
Okay, I'm lonely. Really lonely.

Strangely enough, the only person that I think understands what I'm going through is the same blue-skinned brute that stole my sister. It's wrong to hook up with him, even as a mindless fling.

Except...I'm not so good with the whole 'rules' thing.
And he's not so great with the 'fling' thing.
Thoughts on Barbarian's Taming: Still loving this series HARD. I don't know what it is about a bunch of humans stranded on an ice planet who hook up with the blue-skinned aliens inhabiting the place, but MAN does it work for me!

Honestly, I shouldn't have liked Hassen nearly as much as I did. I mean, the guy abducted Lila to try to force resonance. But...BUT...I get it. He made a mistake. He's being punished for it. He realizes he and Lila wouldn't have made a good match. And he'd so darn lonely. His desire for a mate of his own was kinda heartbreaking.

Then there's Maddie. She's loud and opinionated and she's drowning as she tries to figure out how she fits into this new world. She needs Hassen just as much as he needs her. That whole abduction thing complicates things a bit, as does the fact that Hassen's currently exiled, but they make it work. AND I LIKED IT.

This book brings huge changes overall to the tribe, but the potential for a new, different way of life is just waiting for all of them. I adore these dirty-talkin', blue-skinned aliens and the ladies who resonate with them and I'm excited to see where the story goes from here!

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Until Dawn by Erin Kellison [Review]

 Until Dawn by Erin Kellison
Until Dawn (Dragons of Bloodfire #2.5) by Erin Kellison
Format: ebook
Source: provided for review
Date read: October 25, 2016

Dragons of Bloodfire
1. Tempted by Fire
2. Awakened by Fire
2.5. Until Dawn - Kindle
3. Seduced by Fire

Erin Kellison
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
During the live end-of-season Tell All episode of the reality television show, Witching Wild, cast member Judith Kress opens fan mail expecting the usual personal questions, but gets cursed instead. Vampire Calvin Blake is charged with saving her life and discovering the source of the curse, but ends up in deeper trouble than he thought possible. Survival is going to be a dangerous affair until dawn.
Thoughts on Until Dawn: The dragons that inhabit this world are endlessly fascinating, but the others are just as intriguing. For the record, while the dragons play a secondary role in this story, they still make themselves felt.

So. A vampire and a witch. Judith has the innate talent of her kind, but no training. As a vampire, Cal is considered at the bottom of the supernatural rung, his only saving grace that he's bound himself to a powerful dragon and retains his humanity. Sparks fly the moment these two meet. I liked that Judith saw the predator in him, but didn't let it dissuade her from getting to know him better. I liked that Cal tried to show her his best side while warning her what he was capable of.

Curses, blood magic, and the dead get jumbled together to make this an interesting night for the witch and the vampire. *thumbs up*