Monday, January 23, 2017

Wild by Eve Langlais, Kate Douglas, and A.C. Arthur [Review]

 Wild Anthology
Wild by Eve Langlais, Kate Douglas, and A.C. Arthur
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: August 13, 2016

Eve Langlais
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Kate Douglas
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

A.C. Arthur
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Purchase links: PaperbackKindle

Synopsis (Goodreads):
In Catch a Tiger by the Tail by Eve Langlais, Broderick has a job to do—audit the books of a gentleman’s club. Sounds simple, except his company wants him to find dirt linking to the mob, his secret mob employer wants someone to pin the blame on, and the bar manager at the heart of the controversy doesn’t want him—even though she’s his mate.

In Wild Passions by Kate Douglas, six women—friends closer than sisters—head off to an exclusive mountain resort for a week-long bachelorette getaway, where most of the women just wants to know if there are any good men left in the world. There are, and they’re the men of Feral Passions, a unique resort located on a private wolf preserve, owned and run by a pack of sexy werewolves who use it as their own personal hunting ground for mates.

In Her Perfect Mates by A.C. Arthur, Malec Zenta was part of a loving lycan family until his twin brother’s suicide took a piece of his soul. Channing Verdi never knew his parents, but that was fine because at the age of sixteen on the night of the full moon, he realized his purpose. The only pleasure these two betas have managed to find in their life was in the bed with the women they shared. Now, a human woman has entered their lives...a woman who sets their primal instincts on fire, a woman they can’t help but stake their claim on...and give her the ultimate pleasure of being with two shifters at once.
Thoughts on Wild: Shapeshifters, man. They make me happy.

Catch a Tiger by the Tail by Eve Langlais: The situations Eve Langlais puts her characters in always gives me a giggle. Well, wait. It might be the characters themselves who make me laugh. Either way, I always end up enjoying the sassy women and determined men who populate her books.

Lulu and Brody certainly fit the bill as far as sassy and determined go. They both have secrets that could end up destroying their budding relationship. You know, if the other can't get past those secrets. Plus, there's plenty of opportunity for danger and mayhem. Naturally, they do what any other couple would do when faced with potential bloodshed and/or death: they get nekkid.

(To be fair, Brody does that WAY more than Lulu does. SHIFTERS, MAN! YOU GOTTA LOVE 'EM!)

Fun and sexy, with a side of smartass. I LIKE!

Wild Passions by Kate Douglas: Enjoyable, but with 4 different women dealing with relationships there was a lot of story being told. I was going back and forth on whether I wanted Meg to end up with one of the wolves in the beginning. I got a weird vibe off her fiance at first and wasn't sure if he was all in or using her for some nefarious scheme. Then everything became clear and there was much rejoicing. I ended up liking Elle and Tuck the best out of the group. Probably because I have a soft spot for men who turn into wolves who happen to have funky names. That's just me, though.

Her Perfect Mates by A.C. Arthur: I don't know if I exactly *liked* Carolyn and Malec. No, I liked Malec. Broody, tormented werewolves do it for me. But I never really clicked into Carolyn's head. She was weirdly off-putting. I don't even know why. Or maybe I do. Maybe it was because she was fighting so hard against what she wanted it made it tough to imagine her enjoying herself with two wolves. I did like Channing. Heck, I like most werewolves, so I guess that's a given. Still, I'm kinda going back and forth on how I feel about this book. I like the different take on werewolf mythology, I wasn't in love with Carolyn. Huh.

Sunday, January 22, 2017

RtP Week in Review (01/22/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
  • This week, the preorder for Wisp, the first book in the Forgotten Monsters series, was talked about at KellyApple.com. It's .99 through release week, so grab it while it's hot!
Check it out!
  • DEAR GAWD, PEOPLE! I read Beard Science (Winston Brothers #3) by Penny Reid this past week and I am IN LOVE with her writing. And Cletus. I have a weakness for men who are borderline criminal masterminds. *swoon* Anywho. This book. SO.GOOD. And, uhh, now I might be obsessed with Penny Reid's writing. SO GOOD.

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Write On Review-a-thon [36]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, January 27th to Sunday, January 29th.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}


Friday, January 20, 2017

Wild Things by Jennifer Ashley [Review]

 Wild Things by Jennifer Ashley
Wild Things (Shifters Unbound #7.75) by Jennifer Ashley
Format: ebook
Source: free Kindle download 8/6/16
Date read: August 10, 2016

Shifters Unbound
0.5. Shifters Made
1. Pride Mates
2. Primal Bonds
2.5. Bodyguard
3. Wild Cat
3.5. Hard Mated
4. Mate Claimed
4.5. Perfect Mate
4.6. Lone Wolf
5. Tiger Magic
5.5. Feral Heat
6. Wild Wolf
6.5. Bear Attraction
7. Mate Bond
7.25. Lion Eyes
7.5. Bad Wolf
7.75. Wild Things - Paperback | Kindle
8. White Tiger
9. Guardian's Mate

Jennifer Ashley
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Wolf Shifter Mason McNaughton is tired of the crazy feral living in his house, endangering him, his brothers, and his sweet auntie Cora. Ferals are Shifters who’ve reverted to the wild stage, forgetting all about the joys of pizza and satellite TV. Not to mention, Mason is sick of waking up to the feral’s rampages in the bedroom next to his. The feral has been given sanctuary, so Mason can’t throw him out—the only thing to do is to find a way to cure him.

The problem is, Shifter healers—elusive, Goddess-touched Shifters who have the healing gift—are few and far between. Mason volunteers to go in search of one, and is sent to a psychic in New Orleans who might have an idea of where to start looking.

Mason doesn’t believe in psychics, but Jasmine, the psychic in question, seems to at least put on a good show. Jasmine believes in Shifters all right, but she vowed after her Shifter boyfriend dumped her to never have anything to do with them again.

The easiest way to get rid of the growly Lupine, Mason, is to help him, but Jasmine never dreams what that help will drag her into.
Thoughts on Wild Things: Sometimes I think I'd be able to keep the characters in this series straight if I read the books in order. Then I cackle maniacally and continue my mad-scientist patchwork reading of the series. Because I'm a rebel like that.

(I'm not really a rebel. I just play one on TV.) (No, wait. I don't do that, either.)

So. Mason and Jasmine. He doesn't believe in psychics. She's been burned by shifters before. Plus, she lives in a sentient house. WHICH IS COOL. But only if the house doesn't eat you or anything. Anywho. The two feel the pull of attraction, but they both have their reasons for keeping their distance. Until they just throw caution to the wind and go for it.

ALWAYS FUN!

I like this messed up shifter world. The shifters live in a place that's both dark and hopeful and there's plenty of lovin' to go around. PLENTY of lovin'. *finger guns*

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Prudence by Gail Carriger [Review]

 Prudence by Gail Carriger
Prudence (The Custard Protocol #1) by Gail Carriger
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: August 9, 2016

The Custard Protocol
1. Prudence - Paperback | Kindle
2. Imprudence

Gail Carriger
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
From New York Times bestselling author Gail Carriger comes a new novel in the world of the Parasol Protectorate starring Prudence, the daughter of Alexia Tarabotti.

When Prudence Alessandra Maccon Akeldama (Rue to her friends) is given an unexpected dirigible, she does what any sensible female would under similar circumstances - names it the Spotted Custard and floats to India in pursuit of the perfect cup of tea. But India has more than just tea on offer. Rue stumbles upon a plot involving local dissidents, a kidnapped brigadier's wife, and some awfully familiar Scottish werewolves. Faced with a dire crisis and an embarrassing lack of bloomers, what else is a young lady of good breeding to do but turn metanatural and find out everyone's secrets, even thousand-year-old fuzzy ones?
Thoughts on Prudence: I don't know if I liked Prudence as much as Alexia and Conall. To be fair, I ADORED Alexia and her Scottish hunk of a werewolf, so maybe it's an unfair comparison. Still, it took me a while to fall into Rue's character and the crew she assembled around her.

That said, I did end up enjoying this book. Rue grew on me. Prim's ability to defuse potentially volatile situations with tea and fashion came in handy. Percy...well, his professory attitude was a little annoying, but it was offset by Quesnel's flirtiness, so I was okay with it.

(As an aside, Rue's on again off again flirt-fighting with Quesnel was weirdly captivating. LET THERE BE MORE, I SAY!)

Rue doesn't quite have her mother's presence (thank goodness, she probably thinks), but she stepped into the role of captain with gusto. Her crew is quirky, her friends aren't unwilling to tell her when she's wrong, and she has a strong sense of herself. Mostly. I guess Alexia rubbed off on her in some ways, right?

All in all, an enjoyable romp through the craziness of the supernaturals we've come to know and love.

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Barbarian's Mate by Ruby Dixon [Review]

 Barbarian's Mate by Ruby Dixon
Barbarian's Mate (Ice Planet Barbarians #6) by Ruby Dixon
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: August 5, 2016

Ice Planet Barbarians
1. Ice Planet Barbarians
2. Barbarian Alien
3. Barbarian Lover
4. Barbarian Mine
4.5. Ice Planet Holiday
5. Barbarian's Prize
6. Barbarian's MateKindle
6.5. Having the Barbarian's Baby
6.6. Ice Ice Babies
7. Barbarian's Touch
7.5. Calm
8. Barbarian's Taming
9. Barbarian's Choice
10. Fire and Ice

Ruby Dixon
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
'Resonance' is supposed to be a dream - that's when your soulmate is chosen for you. And everyone on the ice planet has hooked up with a big, hunky soulmate of their own...except me. So do I want a mate? Heck yeah. More than anything, all I've ever wanted is to be loved by someone.

Except that the soulmate chosen for me? My least favorite person on the darn ice planet. Haeden's the most cranky, disapproving, unpleasant, overbearing male alien...so why is it that my body sings when he gets close? Why is he working so hard to prove to me that he's not as awful as I think he is?

I hate him...don't I?
Thoughts on Barbarian's Mate: I've been DYING to see how Haeden's story would play out. The guy was so adorably grumpy and sour all the time that I couldn't see how he'd mesh with the perpetually bubbly Josie. BUT HE DID! And it was GLORIOUS!

Things that worked for me: Haeden coming to the realization that he'd made Jose think he disliked her because of his grumpiness. Josie's realization that the big blue guy was sour because he was afraid of watching something he wanted slip through his fingers. Haeden's patience. Josie's focus on putting her bad past behind her without realizing how it still affected her.

Gonna be honest, I just really liked these two and their dynamic. Heck, I generally like the big blue guys as a whole. They're willing to be patient no matter how long it takes for their resonant mates to come to terms with their circumstances and I just ADORE that.

I'm looking forward to the next set of books. The addition of the two new girls and the mystery over the strange kills the hunters found is giving me grabby hands. This series is seriously working for me and I'm so SO glad I picked it up.

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Top Off Tuesday - Alien power!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

Mysterious, hunky alien is mysterious. I like that.

 Out of the Darkness by Anna Carven
Out of the Darkness (Dark Planet Warriors #4) by Anna Carven
The Kordolians are loose on the asteroid mining station Fortuna Tau, and first-rank mechanic Jia Morgan has become caught up in the thick of things. Under the careful watch of these steely-eyed silver warriors, Jia and her team have been tasked with repairing the hull of the Kordolians’ Alpha-Class battle cruiser, Silence.

The problem is, their alien technology is far, far beyond anything she’s seen before, and whatever they try to weld to Silence’s black hull just won’t stick.

When Jia goes in search of a tool that might actually penetrate the warship’s impossibly strong Callidum exterior, she find herself being aided by a most unlikely source. The hard-faced warrior who’s decided to accompany her walks on silent feet and carries a big, big gun. He’s equal parts scary and attractive, in an otherworldly sort of way.

But although Jia finds this Kordolian fascinating, she’s not even going to try and get close to him, because, well, he’s a freaking Kordolian, and Kordolians aren’t exactly known throughout the Nine Galaxies for being nice and warm and fuzzy.

Instead, she’s going to do her job and fix their warship, because that’s the only way these intimidating warriors are ever going to leave Fortuna Tau. Hopefully, they won’t break anything, or anyone, on the way out.

Oh, and there’s also the small matter of these flesh-eating insect-aliens called Xargek. Apparently, they bite.