Sunday, September 25, 2016

RtP Week in Review (09/25/16)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...

Saturday, September 24, 2016

Write On Review-a-thon [32]

 Write On Review-a-thon
There's another review-a-thon weekend coming up! I'm in!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, September 30th to Sunday, October 2nd.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}


Friday, September 23, 2016

East of Ecstasy by Laura Kaye [Review]

 East of Ecstasy by Laura Kaye
East of Ecstasy (Hearts of the Anemoi #4) by Laura Kaye
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 18, 2016

Hearts of the Anemoi
1. North of Need
2. West of Want
3. South of Surrender
4. East of Ecstasy - Paperback | Kindle

Laura Kaye
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Annalise Fallston made peace with postponing her big-city dreams to care for her ill father, but lately she’s been filled with a restlessness not even her beloved painting dispels. Worse, the colors don’t speak to her as they always have, and all her efforts produce dark, foreboding images of a dangerous man and a terrifying future.

Devlin Eston, black-souled son of the evil Anemoi Eurus, is the only one who can thwart his father’s plan to overthrow the Supreme God of Wind and Storms. But first, Dev must master the unstable powers he’s been given. Distrusted and shunned by his own divine family, he never expected to find kindness and passion in the arms of a mortal.

But Devlin’s love puts Annalise in the path of a catastrophic storm, and in the final Armageddon showdown between the Anemoi and Eurus, sacrifices will be made, hearts broken, and lives changed forever…or lost.
Thoughts on East of Ecstasy: Guys, THINGS HAPPEN in this book. Lots of things. Things that bring the battle between the good guys and the bad guys to a close.

At the heart of all the things is Devlin. The guy has NOT had it easy. His father's quest for power has put Devlin in a terrible position--both mentally and physically. The other Anemoi don't trust him. Devlin's brother is out of reach. Eurus's systematic mental abuse has made Devlin doubt there's any good in him. Yeah, bad place.

Crossing Anna's path is both wonderful and painful for Devlin. (No worries, y'all. this being a romance, they get their happiness. It just takes time and a lot of elbow grease to find it.) Anna's dealing with her own issues, btw. Some of them gifted by the divine and some very mundane.

An extremely satisfying ending to the Anemoi saga. We got to revisit old faces and see how they're holding up. Devlin had the serious tortured hero thing going on and that's like catnip for me. In short, *slow thumbs up*

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Drops of Rain by Kathryn Andrews [Review]

 Drops of Rain by Kathryn Andrews
Drops of Rain (Hale Brothers #1) by Kathryn Andrews
Format: ebook
Source: free Kindle download 5/2/16
Date read: May 17, 2016

Hale Brothers
1. Drops of Rain - Paperback | Kindle
2. Starless Night
3. Unforgettable Sun

Kathryn Andrews
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Ali Rain
Sometimes I think to myself, “How did I get here?” Then the pain hits and I remember…it’s because she’s gone. I now live in a new town, go to a new school, and I’m supposed to be moving on with my new life. Only, I no longer know who I am anymore. Dancing is all I have left and every day I feel completely alone. Silence has become the theme song to my life. She said to find some joy and light, but I don’t know how. Mostly, I feel surrounded in darkness…that is until I meet him.

Drew Hale
I have only one goal, in 298 days I’m going to drive away from this small beach town and never return. People are always watching me closely, too close, and I’m tired of wearing a mask. I need to be free. Swimming is my ticket out of here and I remind myself daily to fly under the radar, stick to my routine, and under no circumstances let anything distract me. I’m not as perfect as they think, most days I am drowning in guilt. I’m not sure I will ever be able to escape the feelings of shame, worthlessness, and just being unwanted…that is until I meet her.
Thoughts on Drops of Rain: I was in the mood for something on the lighter side when I picked this book up. It's not necessarily on the light end of the spectrum (poor Ali and Drew!), but it still hit the spot.

Things I liked: Ali dealing with her circumstances. There's a lot going on with her. Grief, abandonment issues, being the new girl on top of everything else. Drew doesn't necessarily make it easier for her, either. He has his reasons. Totally. I get why he pushed her away and tried to keep his distance. Totally get that. Simply put, I liked Ali's strength and how she pushed herself to stay strong.

I LOVED the relationship between Drew and Beau. Brothers, man. They rocked that part. I didn't love how Beau was used against Drew, but that's another story. The two of them together made a formidable team. *thumbs up*

There were a few instances where the dialog came across as a little stilted. Enough that it threw me out of the story. I can't think of any specific examples, but I had a moment or two of "Would a high schooler REALLY say that?" Still, I enjoyed Ali and Drew's story and want to see Beau catch his special lady friend. So, there's that.

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

One-Eyed Dukes are Wild by Megan Frampton [Review]

 One-Eyed Dukes are Wild by Megan Frampton
One-Eyed Dukes are Wild (Dukes Behaving Badly #3) by Megan Frampton
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 17, 2016

Dukes Behaving Badly
1. The Duke's Guide to Correct Behavior
1.5. When Good Earls Go Bad
2. Put Up Your Duke
2.5. No Groom at the Inn
3. One-Eyed Dukes are Wild - Paperback | Kindle
4. Why Do Dukes Fall in Love

Megan Frampton
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When does proper behavior deserve a deliciously improper reward?

The scandalously unmarried Lady Margaret Sawford is looking for adventure—and is always up for a challenge. Her curiosity is aroused by a dangerous-looking stranger with an eye patch, an ideal companion for the life she longs for, no matter what Society might say. So when the piratical gentleman turns out to be a duke—and just as boringly proper as any other nobleman—she can't help but incite him to walk on the wild side.

Well-heeled, well-mannered, and well beyond any interest in society's expectations, the Duke of Lasham is tired of being perfect. Margaret's lush beauty and gently laughing eyes are an irresistible temptation to embrace the imperfect—and her. But if a little misbehavior is appealing, unleashing his wild side is completely seductive—as long as the lovely Margaret is the object of his passion.
Thoughts on One-Eyed Dukes are Wild: I... I think I might love the role reversal here. Instead of having the lady being the proper, young miss who finds her wild side, the duke is the one who needs to figure out how to unbend a bit. *swoon*

No, really. Lasham is adorably awkward and proper and he can't quite find the right words when he needs them. He's so...sweet. THEY GUY IS SWEET. He's also sexy and clueless and can look menacing in the right light. Oh, and he's lonely. Which kinda broke my heart because he's fully aware that, as a duke, he has nothing to complain about. But when you're wrapped up in responsibility and what's proper, you sometimes forget how to live.

While Lasham is proper, Margaret is scandalous. She plays cards (and WINS!). She speaks her mind. She does what she can to help others even when it puts her in a tough situation. Basically, they're perfect for one another. Margaret teaches Lasham how to let go and he learns that being a good duke doesn't mean giving up on any chance of happiness.

I really ended up liking this book. Besides the role reversal, it just made me feel good. Margaret and Lasham were sweet. SUPER SWEET. I liked that.

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Top Off Tuesday - Danger!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

Muscle-y man with a gun! YASSSSS!

 Chasing Danger by Katie Reus
Chasing Danger (Deadly Ops #2.5) by Katie Reus
Chief Nursing Officer Hannah Young is accustomed to working under pressure, but even she’s still reeling in the aftermath of a horrific terrorist attack on Miami. And things only get worse after a knife wielding maniac tries to kill her. Desperate for help, Hannah must turn to the one man she never thought she’d see again.

After spending an intensely passionate night with Hannah, NSA Agent and former Delta Force operative Dax Costas fell off the face of the earth. He got called away for a two week mission with no way to contact her. Now he can’t get the smart, sexy woman out of his head. She might be angry at him, but when it appears she has a stalker, Dax moves her under his roof and into his protection.

Unfortunately, whoever wants Hannah dead will stop at nothing. And if Dax can’t identify the perpetrator in time, it could be too late to discover if there is more between him and Hannah than just heated passion…

Monday, September 19, 2016

Beyond Ecstasy by Kit Rocha [Review]

 Beyond Ecstasy by Kit Rocha
Beyond Ecstasy (Beyond #8) by Kit Rocha
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: May 19, 2016

Beyond
1. Beyond Shame
2. Beyond Control
2.5. Beyond Denial
3. Beyond Pain
3.5. Beyond Temptation
4. Beyond Jealousy
4.5. Beyond Solitude
5. Beyond Addiction
5.5. Beyond Possession
6. Beyond Innocence
6.5. Closed Doors
6.6. Blank Canvas
7. Beyond Ruin
8. Beyond Ecstasy - Kindle
9. Beyond Surrender

Kit Rocha
Kit Rocha is the non-paranormal pen name for the fabulous writing duo Bree and Donna. They also write paranormal sexiness as Moira Rogers and new adult sexiness as Joelle Knox.
Website | Twitter (Kit Rocha) | Twitter (Donna) | Twitter (Bree) | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The O’Kanes have a reputation for working hard and playing harder—except for Hawk. He joined the gang with one goal: to ensure his family’s survival through the impending war with Eden. It’s been years since he had the luxury of wanting anything for himself. Now, he wants Jeni. From the first moment he saw her, he’s been obsessed with making her his. Not for a night—forever.

Jeni’s been lusting after the former smuggler for months, but he keeps shutting her down. She’s almost given up on getting him in her bed when he offers her the last thing she ever expected—a collar. Accepting it means belonging to him, body and soul. It’s a reckless gamble, but Jeni can’t resist the chance to slip under Hawk’s armor.

The only thing more shocking than the dark, dangerous pleasure they discover is how right it feels. But falling in love is even more reckless when forever is far from guaranteed. Because they aren’t just at war, they’re out of time—and every breath could be their last.
Thoughts on Beyond Ecstasy: THIS BOOK, MAN! It made me all tense and worried and OMG! SO GOOD! I'm equal parts thrilled and terrified knowing there's only one more book in this series. The O'Kanes are electrifying and heartbreaking and the way they love with everything inside them makes me swoony. That said, they do deserve a measure of peace after how hard they'd scrapped to make things work in their world. Plus, Eden can suck it.

So. War has come. Eden has dropped the hammer (or turned on the electrified wall. Whatever.) and it's do or die for Dallas and his crew AND all the other sectors. That doesn't mean there's not time for relationships to bloom and sexy times to happen, though. Maybe the threat of what's in the very near future makes Jeni and Hawk a little more reckless than they would have been otherwise. Maybe under other circumstances they would have taken things a little slower. But they work with what they're given and, while it's not always a smooth ride, they build something.

Seriously, they have their share of bumps. Hawk blames himself for things out of his control. Jeni rushes in when she should pause and evaluate. But they try. And they love. And it's as explosive as any other O'Kane relationship.

Danger is always present (more so now than ever before) and the layers of rot within the upper levels of Eden are becoming more apparent by the day. Bad things are coming. Heck, bad things are here. But the O'Kanes (and the other sectors) are ready. They have to be.