Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Be My Fantasy by Alisha Rai [Review]

 Be My Fantasy by Alisha Rai
Be My Fantasy (Fantasy #1) by Alisha Rai
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 10, 2016

Fantasy
1. Be My Fantasy - Kindle
2. Stay My Fantasy

Alisha Rai
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When she was bad, she was better.

Elizabeth Harding, the perfect, polished daughter of politicians, plays by all the rules. Or so it seems. Tired of a lifetime of denying her passionate nature, she’s created an alter ego. As Tess, Elizabeth is able to safely and secretly indulge all of her wild fantasies—even if that fantasy is financing a private club of pleasure.

Driven and ambitious, Luca Santos has clawed his way from rags to riches. His boss’s daughter has tempted him for what seems like forever, but he’s known that the pampered princess probably wouldn’t be down with his dirty ways. Elizabeth is sweet, innocent, demure…so what’s she doing sneaking around a place that revels in sexual abandon?

One night. So many ways to ruin a person.
Thoughts on Be My Fantasy: Oh, my. Is it hot in here or IS IT THIS BOOK? *fans self* No lie, this book is smokin'. IT IS GLORIOUS. My only complaint is that now I have to wait for the next installment. Elizabeth and Luca deserve to get it on a few more times (and find some serious Happily Ever After, man). Also, I'm impatient and want to see how things play out.

If I put aside the steamy scenes (which were outstanding), I think the scene where Elizabeth confronts Luca to clear up the misconceptions that sprung up between them was my favorite. That she would so matter-of-factly tell him what had happened without any expectation he'd accept her explanation made me sit up and do a fist pump. She saw something that needed to be done and did it. I admire that in a heroine. There was no artifice. No wheedling to try to get something out of him. Just "this is what happened. Deal with it or don't."

Taking a cue from Elizabeth, I'm not going to pull my punches. I want book 2. This book only whetted my appetite for more of their story and I can't wait to see how their romance plays out.

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Top Off Tuesday - Killer!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

Shirtless, tattooed men. I can totally get behind this!

 Midnight Revenge by Elle Kennedy
Midnight Revenge (Killer Instincts #7) by Elle Kennedy
Out of all the stone-cold mercenaries in Jim Morgan's black ops organization, Derek “D” Pratt is the most intimidating. He is tight-lipped and covered in tattoos, and even the other guys on his team are afraid to ask him about his past. D’s been off the grid for years, but after his teammate Sullivan is mistakenly captured in his place, D is forced to come out of hiding and face his demons.

When D lands in Mexico, he’s ready to risk everything to save his friend. To complicate matters, Sofia Amaro, a feisty doctor whom D had a one-night stand with months ago, has tracked him down. And in an instant she’s unintentionally caught up in his life-threatening rescue mission.

Now D must extract not one but two people from the most violent world he's ever encountered. And one of them is carrying his child...

Monday, August 22, 2016

Wasted Words by Staci Hart [Review]

 Wasted Words by Staci Hart
Wasted Words by Staci Hart
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: May 14, 2016

Staci Hart
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |
|  Paperback | Kindle |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Some universal truths refuse to be ignored.

Peanut butter and jelly are a match made in heaven. Spaghetti and meatballs are best friends forever. And guys like Tyler Knight don’t go for girls like Cam Emerson.

She knew from the second she met him that he didn’t belong on her bookshelf, the six-foot-six ex-tight end with a face so all-American, it could have sold apple pie. So she shelved him next to the supermodels and rock stars and took her place on her own shelf — the one with the flannel-clad, pasty-faced comic book nerds. Most of her boyfriends have existed between the pages of books, but rather than worrying over her own lacking love life, she puts all her energy into playing Cupid, using her job at the book bar, Wasted Words, as her stomping ground.

Tyler Knight always looks on the bright side. His career-ending injury turned into a job as a sports agent. A horrible breakup led him to Cam, his quirky, smart roommate who is far more beautiful than she realizes. She’s made it perfectly clear she’s not interested in him — not like that at least — but if she ever changes her mind, he won’t hesitate. Because he doesn’t see the lines she’s drawn between them, as much as she insists that they’re there. Deep down he knows that despite their differences, they’re a match well made.

*A romantic comedy inspired by Jane Austen’s Emma*
Thoughts on Wasted Words: Man this book was tough on me. Mostly because I could see where Cam was coming from with her anxiety and her desire to be in control. And, BOY, did I want her to find her happily ever after with Tyler. I WANTED IT BAD! Every time she'd start to slip into her head and have all those doubts, I tensed up.

Basically, not only was this an outstanding read, I worked my abs with all the tensing. Well played, Hart. Well played.

So. Cam has a few issues. Don't we all? Tyler... I really liked the guy. He was understanding without being a pushover. He was a big, sexy beast who took a terrible situation and turned it into something good. He fit Cam. For all Cam fought against it (something I totally got given what she'd experienced in the past), Tyler had the patience to convince her their differences weren't so different after all.

Also, I love big, sexy beasts who don't mind waiting until the right time to rock their lady's world!

I loved seeing some familiar faces. I loved the bar/coffee shop/book store/comic book store. I just...*grabs everyone and holds them close* More please.

Sunday, August 21, 2016

RtP Week in Review (08/21/16)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!

Saturday, August 20, 2016

Write On Review-a-thon [31]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, August 26th to Sunday, August 28th.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • With Bout of Books 17 going on this week, I expect I'll have plenty of reviews to write come the weekend....

Friday, August 19, 2016

Bout of Books 17 Starting Line

 Bout of Books 17
Bout of Books 17 is here! Check out the Bout of Books blog to see the ins and outs of what to expect from this read-a-thon. Reminders for the daily challenges (if you wish to participate), Twitter chats, etc will be posted to keep you in the loop. Now, let's get our read on!

Time Devoted to Reading
I will be dedicating the entire week to reading. As usual, I'm also working full time and writing a couple of books. So...yeah.

My Goals
  • Read
  • Have fun!
  • Don't stress
Books to Read
  • Cowboy Kinky by Jodi Redford - DONE and review written
  • Being Green by Cynthia Sax - DONE and review written
  • Another Chance by Taryn Kincaid - DONE and review written
  • Her Captain by Taryn Kincaid - DONE and review written
  • Blonde Date by Sarina Bowen - DONE and review written
  • In Good Spirits by Michele Bardsley - DONE and review written
  • Having the Barbarian's Baby by Ruby Dixon - DONE and review written
  • Ice Ice Babies by Ruby Dixon - DONE and review written
  • Pia Does Hollywood by Thea Harrison - DONE and review written
  • Shadow's End by Thea Harrison
  • Liam Takes Manhattan by Thea Harrison
  • Grinder by Samantha Whiskey - DONE and review written
  • Beyond Galaxy's Edge by Anna Hackett - DONE and review written
Updates
8/22
Number of books I’ve read today: 8
Total number of books I’ve read: 8
Books read: Blonde Date, Cowboy Kinky, Being Green, Pia Does Hollywood, In Good Spirits, Her Captain, Having the Barbarian's Baby, Ice Ice Babies
Today #insixwords: Can't stop me now, #boutofbooks! BOOM!
Things I learned on Twitter: In retrospect, I probably should have chosen longer books (these were all novellas and I zipped through them). OH WELL. SO IT GOES. *ahem* So. Things I learned on Twitter: Amanda is afraid of my aggressive book grabbing. Things I learned at work: I had to hear an old lady tell us all the gossip about who's having sex with who. It was kinda traumatizing. I read a metric SHIT TON of books today. I do NOT expect tomorrow to be as productive. For reals.
Final Tally: One seriously adorable couple, one dirty talkin' cowboy, one sweet cyborg warrior, the first family of the Wyr, one beleaguered waitress, one damaged soldier, one icy planet, one new mom

8/23
Number of books I’ve read today: 3
Total number of books I’ve read: 11
Books read: Another Chance, Grinder, Beyond Galaxy's Edge
Today #insixwords: #boutofbooks Day 2: Still going strong.
Things I learned on Twitter: Err... was I even on Twitter? I don't really remember. I had to do some work stuff today. TERRIBLE. Let's just move along, shall we?
Final Tally: One mated pair, one sexy hockey player, one determined captain

8/24
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/25
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/26
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/27
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

8/28
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books read:
Today #insixwords:
Things I learned on Twitter:
Final Tally:

Final Thoughts:

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Charming the Beast by Cynthia Eden [Review]

 Charming the Beast by Cynthia Eden
Charming the Beast (Purgatory #3) by Cynthia Eden
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 9, 2016

Purgatory
1. The Beast Within
2. Marked by the Vampire
3. Charming the Beast - Paperback | Kindle
4. Deal with the Devil

Cynthia Eden
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
He’s a man with a beast inside…

Connor Marrok never intended to work for the Seattle Para Unit. He’s not one of the good guys—he’s a real monster, and the beast he carries doesn’t exactly play nicely. But now he finds himself being blackmailed into a new assignment. It’s supposed to be his last gig. His mission? Protect the beautiful Chloe Quick. Keep her alive. Destroy her enemies. Easy enough…until he starts to fall for Chloe.

She just wants to escape.

Chloe is tired of being a prisoner. She wants to get away from her Para Unit guard and run fast into the night. So what if Connor is the sexiest guy she’s ever met? Chloe knows trouble when she sees it, and Connor is one big, dangerous package of trouble. But, when an obsessed werewolf begins stalking Chloe, she realizes that her paranormal bodyguard may just be the one man she needs the most.

Their attraction is primal.

Every moment that Chloe and Connor spend together increases their attraction. Chloe has never felt a need so strong or a desire so dark. The beast that Chloe carries inside has always been silent, but Connor is stirring up her animal instincts. And as the danger and desire begin to twist together, Chloe wonders just how far she’d be willing to go…in order to spend one more night in Connor’s arms. 
Thoughts on Charming the Beast: I'm reading this series NOT IN ORDER. Well, wait. It's in order if you ignore the fact I skipped book 2 for some reason known only to myself and the elder gods. You know what? I don't even know why I did it. I think I was desperate for some one on one time with a werewolf with a secret. I have such a thing for werewolves, don't I? SUCH A THING!

Anywho. Connor has a few issues to work through. As does Chloe. They're pretty well matched in that regard. What with the awful childhoods and all. Seriously, literary parents are pretty terrible, aren't they? Ehh. I guess it worked out for the best. The two of them are both damaged enough to understand the other.

Seeing as the events that shaped Chloe into her current self happened in book 2, it probably would have made sense to read it first. That said, I did okay picking up the clues. Chloe is kinda messed up and she basically has no clue how new-her is going to fit into the world, but she still has her fighting spirit. And that's important.

Sexy werewolf who has a little bit extra meets a girl who thinks she's less than she is. All in all, a solid read.