Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Top Off Tuesday - Hot boss!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

This is a crazy long blurb, but LOOK AT THAT COVER!

 Bossman by Vi Keeland
Bossman by Vi Keeland
The first time I met Chase Parker, I didn't exactly make a good impression.

I was hiding in the bathroom hallway of a restaurant, leaving a message for my best friend to save me from my awful date.

He overheard and told me I was a bitch, then proceeded to offer me some dating advice.

So I told him to mind his own damn business―his own tall, gorgeous, full-of-himself damn business―and went back to my miserable date.

When he walked by my table, he smirked, and I watched his arrogant, sexy ass walk back to his date.

I couldn't help but sneak hidden glances at the condescending jerk on the other side of the room. Of course, he caught me on more than one occasion, and winked.

When the gorgeous stranger and his equally hot date suddenly appeared at our table, I thought he was going to rat me out.

But instead, he pretended we knew each other and joined us―telling elaborate, embarrassing stories about our fake childhood.

My date suddenly went from boring to bizarrely exciting.

When it was over and we parted ways, I thought about him more than I would ever admit, even though I knew I'd never see him again.

I mean, what were the chances I'd run into him again in a city with eight million people?Then again...

What were the chances a month later he'd wind up being my new sexy boss?

Monday, March 27, 2017

Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews [Review]

 Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews
Magic Rises (Kate Daniels #6) by Ilona Andrews
Format: paperback
Source: purchased
Date read: September 20, 2016

Kate Daniels
0.5. A Questionable Client
1. Magic Bites
2. Magic Burns
3. Magic Strikes
3.5. Magic Mourns
4. Magic Bleeds
4.5. Magic Dreams
Curran POV Collection
5. Magic Slays
5.3. Magic Tests
5.4. Magic Gifts
5.5. Gunmetal Magic
5.8. An Ill-Advised Rescue
6. Magic Rises - Paperback | Kindle
6.5. Magic Steals
7. Magic Breaks
8. Magic Shifts
8.5. Magic Stars
9. Magic Binds

Ilona Andrews
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Atlanta is a city plagued by magical problems. Kate Daniels will fight to solve them—no matter the cost.

Mercenary Kate Daniels and her mate, Curran, the Beast Lord, are struggling to solve a heartbreaking crisis. Unable to control their beasts, many of the Pack’s shapeshifting children fail to survive to adulthood. While there is a medicine that can help, the secret to its making is closely guarded by the European packs, and there’s little available in Atlanta.

Kate can’t bear to watch innocents suffer, but the solution she and Curran have found threatens to be even more painful. The European shapeshifters who once outmaneuvered the Beast Lord have asked him to arbitrate a dispute—and they’ll pay him in medicine. With the young people’s survival and the Pack’s future at stake, Kate and Curran know they must accept the offer—but they have little doubt that they’re heading straight into a trap…
Thoughts on Magic Rises: Man, Kate finds herself in some tangled situations. Even knowing they were walking into a trap and taking the necessary precautions, they still ended up scrambling. That said, since both Kate and Curran can think on their feet like champs it didn't turn out as badly as it could have.

Don't get me wrong, THINGS HAPPENED. Some bad. Some good. Some AWFUL. But given how Curran's first meeting the the European shapeshifters went, it could have been much, much worse.

Speaking of which...not cool, Curran. Your actions weren't cool at all. I mean, I get where you were coming from, but I did have to put down my book for a few minutes and walk away (much like Kate, come to think of it) after a few of your stunts. (Of course I came back. It's not like you can leave a KD book midway through and not return. Even when the big, growly portion of the relationship is acting suspect.)

All signs point to the big secrets Kate's been keeping coming to a head. I'm eyeballing the next book and wondering if I can handle it so soon after this one. Oh, who am I kidding, I can. Probably.

Sunday, March 26, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (03/26/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile
    • The Demon Prince (Ars Numina #2) by Ann Aguirre - For review!
    • Currently reading 
      • The Demon Prince by Ann Aguirre
    Globetrotting...

    Saturday, March 25, 2017

    Spotlight on...Dream by Kelly Apple

    There's a surly nightmare who hasn't quite mastered his inborn skills yet in the house! Meet Cris and Garnet, the nightmare and his special lady friend.

    Cris Mara is tired of hiding his true self. This disillusioned nightmare is ready to show the humans what he can do with the abilities he’s been born with. At least he will be once he masters the skill to walk the nightmare plane at will, not just when night closes over his part of the world.

    Garnet Douglas can’t stop dreaming about the man she sees in a coffee shop near her college. He’s dangerous and fascinating and his darkness calls to her in ways she can’t explain. When an unexpected encounter reveals that Garnet’s dreams aren’t as random as she thought, she has to decide whether she’s ready to believe in the world Cris is part of or if she’d rather keep her head buried in the metaphorical sand.

    The world is teetering on the brink of a revelation and Cris and Garnet are only the beginning.

    Warning: This book contains one surly nightmare who can’t quite keep from going off prematurely. If only he could find a lady who complemented his darkness he might be able to figure things out.
    You can pick up Dream at: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iTunes | Kobo

    Add Dream on Goodreads

    Friday, March 24, 2017

    The Year of the Crocodile by Courtney Milan [Review]

     The Year of the Crocodile by Courtney Milan
    The Year of the Crocodile (Cyclone #2.5) by Courtney Milan
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: September 13, 2016

    Cyclone
    1. Trade Me
    2. Hold Me
    2.5. The Year of the CrocodileKindle
    3. Find Me

    Courtney Milan
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    Tina Chen and Blake Reynolds have been together for almost a year. In that time, they’ve grown closer on just about every front. The one exception? Blake’s father has never let anything stop him. Tina’s parents have never let anyone push them around. And they’ve never met.

    That’s about to change. But don’t worry—fireworks are traditional at Chinese New Years.
    Thoughts on Year of the Crocodile: Oh my goodness, I had forgotten how much I like Adam Effing Reynolds. The guy is a foul-mouthed stick of dynamite and I LOVE LOVE LOVE how he expresses himself. I also love how much he adores his son.

    But this short is about more than AFR. It's also about Tina's parents and their own brand of dynamite. Not going to lie, Tina's mom's cake was...genius. Utterly fantastic. She does me proud. The woman isn't afraid to speak (or draw) her mind. I appreciate that.

    And then there's Tina and Blake. THOSE TWO. I like them. I like them very, very much. From Blake's intensity when he's focused on a problem to Tina's creativity when it comes to carving out some alone time for the two of them. *thumbs up*

    This series, man. It's good. Very good. It's highly possible AFR might actually kill me dead before it's over. THAT GUY!

    Thursday, March 23, 2017

    Pirate Nemesis by Carysa Locke [Review]

     Pirate Nemesis by Carysa Locke
    Pirate Nemesis (Telepathic Space Pirates #1) by Carysa Locke
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: September 5, 2016

    Telepathic Space Pirates
    0.5. Pirate Bound
    1. Pirate Nemesis - Kindle

    Carysa Locke
    Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    Killers. Thieves. Pirates. Family.

    Mercy Kincaid is a fugitive from her own family. Her dangerous telepathic gifts make her a target. So is anyone she gets close to. When her best friend is captured and tortured, Mercy’s only hope is to reunite with the family that tried to murder her as a child. She trusts few among her blood relatives, but finds herself intrigued by an enigmatic and dangerous killer.

    Reaper has spent a lifetime watching his people die. He's vowed to kill anyone who jeopardizes their survival. Mercy’s gifts are the biggest threat they’ve faced in eleven years, since a biological weapon nearly annihilated the pirate colonies. But Reaper realizes her talents can either destroy them, or save them. He must decide if he’s fallen victim to her power, or if he can truly trust the beautiful woman and her compelling abilities. If he makes the wrong choice, everyone dies.

    Pirate Nemesis is the first book in an ongoing science fiction romance series. If you like compelling world-building, fantastic characters, and sizzling romance, then you'll love Carysa Locke's new twist on an old genre.
    Thoughts on Pirate Nemesis: I can't stop thinking about this book. Seriously. Like, I want more. Immediately, if not yesterday. There are so very many things I love about the world building and the characters that I'm all tangled up because OMG THAT ENDING THO. *swoons*

    *pauses to take a deep breath*

    Right. So Reaper and Mercy worked for me. He's a killer. Literally. His ability to pinpoint weaknesses in those he's up against could be utterly terrifying. Instead, his blunt approach with Mercy makes her feel safe. Meanwhile, Mercy's been so cut off from other gifted individuals that she has no idea what she's capable of.

    AND THERE'S SO MUCH SHINY GOODNESS TO BE FOUND!

    I liked their unlikely romance. I'm on the fence on whether I think Reaper can share Mercy with someone else, but I'm willing to go along for the ride. I'm SO SO SO crazy-eyed by the revelations at the end. THINGS ARE HAPPENING! THINGS!

    I might have slightly understated my excitement, so just bear in mind that I'm totally smitten with these dangerous telepathic space pirates. TOTALLY SMITTEN!

    Wednesday, March 22, 2017

    Calm by Ruby Dixon [Review]

     Calm by Ruby Dixon
    Calm (Ice Planet Barbarians #8.5) by Ruby Dixon
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: September 5, 2016

    Ice Planet Barbarians
    1. Ice Planet Barbarians
    2. Barbarian Alien
    3. Barbarian Lover
    4. Barbarian Mine
    5. Ice Planet Holiday
    6. Barbarian's Prize
    7. Barbarian's Mate
    7.5. Having the Barbarian's Baby
    7.6. Ice Ice Babies
    8. Barbarian's Touch
    8.5. CalmKindle
    9. Barbarian's Taming
    9.5. Aftershocks
    10. Barbarian's Heart
    11. Barbarian's Hope
    12. Barbarian's Choice
    13. Barbarian's Redemption
    14. Barbarian's Lady

    Ruby Dixon
    Website | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    Calm
    One morning, gentle Maylak wakes up and feels a sense of oncoming dread. As the tribe's healer, it is her job to ensure that everyone is safe, happy, and healthy... and they are.

    So what can be threatening her people?

    Moving Day
    Farli helps move Maddie into the new 'girls' cave while avoiding some prospective suitors.

    These are two slice of life short stories set in the ICE PLANET BARBARIANS series and do not stand alone. They should be read after BARBARIAN'S TOUCH and are a little bit of sweetness and family life for those waiting for the next full book release.
    Thoughts on Calm: The first short story teases us with something nebulous on the horizon. Maylak's sense of foreboding sends her through the caverns as she checks on each of the inhabitants. While all the couples are hale and hearty, there's something tickling her sixth sense. I enjoyed her wanderings through the cavern and seeing all the human women as they deal with mated life and their new babies. I'm even more excited as the tease of what's to come.

    Moving Day was kinda sad. As Farli helps move Maddie into her new cave, we see how Asha is sunk in her depression. Knowing Maddie's story is next, I wonder where that will leave Asha and if she can pull out of her funk. *sad face*

    Overall, enjoyable and the vague hints about the future make me want to snap up the next book ASAP.