Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Top Off Tuesday - Abs.

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

All those glistening, golden abs are just calling to you, aren't they?

 The Seduction of Elliot McBride by Jennifer Ashley
The Seduction of Elliot McBride (Mackenzies & McBrides #5) by Jennifer Ashley
PROPERLY IMPROPER…AND DARING TO LOVE…

Juliana St. John was raised to be very proper. After a long engagement, her wedding day dawns—only for Juliana to find herself jilted at the altar.

Fleeing the mocking crowd, she stumbles upon Elliot McBride, the tall, passionate Scot who was her first love. His teasing manner gives her an idea, and she asks Elliot to save her from an uncertain future—by marrying her…

After escaping brutal imprisonment, Elliot has returned to Scotland a vastly wealthy yet tormented man. Now Juliana has her hands full restoring his half-ruined manor in the Scottish Highlands and trying to repair the broken heart of the man some call irredeemably mad. Though beautiful and spirited, Juliana wonders if that will be enough to win a second chance at love.

Monday, December 5, 2016

Thunder Road by Sierra Dean [Review]

 Thunder Road by Sierra Dean
Thunder Road (Rain Chaser #1) by Sierra Dean
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: July 4, 2016

Rain Chaser
1. Thunder RoadKindle

Sierra Dean
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Being Chosen was supposed to be a gift.

That’s what Tallulah Corentine’s parents told her when they handed her over to the Rain Chasers on her seventh birthday. It was an honor to be born with a destiny, to be hand selected by the gods before taking her first breath. She should be overjoyed.

Twenty years later, Tallulah is still waiting for the gift. She might have the power of the storm at her fingertips, but she’s spent her whole adult life living under a cloud.

A cross-country trip to find the wayward son of Seth, god of the storm, turns into a fight for her life when she dupes Death out of a valuable treasure. With only a wily con man, a dangerously handsome bad-luck priest, and a lot of lightning to help her, can she deliver the package and keep herself out of an early grave?

Or will Seth be looking for a new Rain Chaser before it’s all over?
Thoughts on Thunder Road: This book gave me EVERYTHING I wanted in an urban fantasy and then some. Sassy, snarky heroine whose awesome ability comes with a bit of a downside? CHECK! Enigmatic bad-luck priest who comes with his own set of issues? CHECK! Wacky shenanigans with gods and monsters? CHECK!

If book two was available now, I'd be ALL OVER IT. Seriously. I really, really liked this book and want to see more of Tallulah and the sketchy promises/deals/interactions she gets into. Because that girl owes more than one deity and I can't imagine things will go easily for her down the road.

I'm digging on the old gods vibe. I'm loving how attached to their cars both Tallulah and Cade were. And I get why. I loved how Tallulah could pack away meals. I just... I LIKED THE ENTIRE BOOK, OKAY? It worked for me.

Here's to hoping we get to see Tallulah battling the odds again soon. *whispers* I really liked the book. I totally want more.

Sunday, December 4, 2016

RtP Week in Review (12/04/16)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile
  • Currently reading 
    • Enigma by Lindsay Buroker
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • GUESS WHAT'S COMING SOON!!! That's right! Bout of Books will be swinging around in a MONTH!

Saturday, December 3, 2016

Blog Housekeeping [76]


It's that time again! Time to polish up your blog until it shines!

POP QUIZ: When was the last time you backed up your blog?

Update:
  • review archive - are you responsible for sites other than your own? Don't forget about those
  • sidebar - check for buttons or links for events that have ended. Have any new events coming up? Now's the time to add them.
  • reading challenges - update your progress, add links to challenges where you can link up. If you're a challenge host, do you try to comment on linked reviews? Now's your chance!
  • blogrolls -  clean 'em up!
  • crosspost - do you crosspost to Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, Library Thing? Don't forget to add your reviews to Netgalley or Edelwiess for those ARCs.
  • check your subscription and social media links - if this isn't something that you normally check, now's an excellent time to make sure it's doing what it should be doing. 
  • check your static pages (About, Review Policy, etc) for outdated information, broken links, etc.
  • review your profiles - when was the last time you updated your Goodreads or Facebook profiles? Is everything up to date?
Get ahead:
  • December has arrived! Have you been keeping up?
Misc:
  • respond to review requests and other bloggy emails
  • check your spam folder - legitimate emails can sometimes slip through, catch them now.
  • check the spam filter on the blog - get rid of the spam! save the legits!
  • make the rounds - check back on blogs where you left comments, maybe spread a few new comments around like candy.
Did you do everything that applies to you? Well done! Now...

BACK UP YOUR BLOG!
Tutorial |

The Next Blog Housekeeping is scheduled for 1/7! I hope to see you there!

Friday, December 2, 2016

Croc's Return by Eve Langlais [Review]

 Croc's Return by Eve Langlais
Croc's Return (Bitten Point #1) by Eve Langlais
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: June 29, 2016

Bitten Point
1. Croc's Return - Paperback | Kindle
2. Panther's Claim
3. Python's Embrace
4. Gator's Challenge

Eve Langlais
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Coming home doesn’t always solve things … but it does pave the way for second chances.

Take one deadly bite and, bam, a man’s life is changed forever, or so Caleb discovers when a loss of control leads to him joining the military and leaving everything behind.

Time goes by … years spent silent and alone, cut off from those he loves. Until it’s time to come back, a scarred veteran, in many ways broken and looking for a meaning to his life. Perhaps it's not too late to right some wrongs. Make amends. Kiss a certain pair of sweet lips one more time.

If only Renny would damned well let him.

It doesn’t take Caleb long to realize Renny’s just the thing this croc needs to bring him back to life. Yet, what if he loses control again? He doesn’t want to take nibbling on her thighs to a whole new level.

Too bad, he can’t stay away, especially not when he discovers her secret. Add in a strange creature stalking the townsfolk and there is no way he’s leaving her alone.

Years ago it just about killed him to leave, but Caleb’s a changed man now. A darker kind of animal, and this retired soldier is ready to kill so he can stay.

Welcome to Bitten Point, where the swamp doesn't just keep its secrets, it sometimes eats them.
Thoughts on Croc's Return: Aww. Poor Caleb. He's tangled up in his guilt over his reason for leaving and what he did when he was gone. It takes him a while to find his footing with his family and with Renny.

Which, considering how he ignored a BIG piece of news she dropped on him, makes things a wee bit tough on their reconciliation. Good thing there's something dark and deadly to throw them together. Honestly, without that added push Caleb would have been groveling for a lot longer.

I can't say I blame Renny in the least for taking the road she took.

As always, I'm loving the snark and sass Eve Langlais's shifters give us. They're dark and dangerous and downright fun. I mean, who doesn't like a growly croc with a surly attitude being brought to his knees by a sassy human?

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Because of Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn [Review]

 Because of Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn
Because of Miss Bridgerton (Rokesbys #1) by Julia Quinn
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: June 29, 2016

Rokesbys
1. Because of Miss Bridgerton - Paperback | Kindle

Julia Quinn
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Sometimes you find love in the most unexpected of places...

This is not one of those times.

Everyone expects Billie Bridgerton to marry one of the Rokesby brothers. The two families have been neighbors for centuries, and as a child the tomboyish Billie ran wild with Edward and Andrew. Either one would make a perfect husband... someday.

Sometimes you fall in love with exactly the person you think you should...

Or not.

There is only one Rokesby Billie absolutely cannot tolerate, and that is George. He may be the eldest and heir to the earldom, but he's arrogant, annoying, and she's absolutely certain he detests her. Which is perfectly convenient, as she can't stand the sight of him, either.

But sometimes fate has a wicked sense of humor...

Because when Billie and George are quite literally thrown together, a whole new sort of sparks begins to fly. And when these lifelong adversaries finally kiss, they just might discover that the one person they can't abide is the one person they can't live without...
Thoughts on Because of Miss Bridgerton: George and Billie were so darn fun together. Even when they weren't actively trying to needle one another, they snarked and sniped. IT WAS GLORIOUS. No, really. It was. Because you could see the seeds of their relationship growing with every single encounter. And really, who doesn't like watching respect and love blossom in two stubborn, intelligent people?

That said, it wasn't all snarking and stolen kisses. They also had to get around their preconceived notions about one another. They were so used to each other that they didn't *see* how much they'd both grown. The moment that George notices Billie is beautiful and Billie recognizes how much not being able to rush off and make things right drags at George is absolutely lovely. They both have to let go of the past to see how perfectly they fit now.

(Oh, and those kisses. They were pretty spectacular, too.)

I enjoyed revisiting the Bridgerton family, even though they weren't the rambunctious crew we've come to know and love. Let's just say that Bridgertons are Bridgertons no matter where they might be. And I love spending time with them no matter what.

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Last Command by Lindsay Buroker [Review]

 Last Command by Lindsay Buroker
Last Command (Fallen Empire #0.5) by Lindsay Buroker
Format: ebook
Source: free for Fallen Empire newsletter subscribers
Date read: June 25, 2016

Fallen Empire
0.5. Last Command - Fallen Empire newsletter
1. Star Nomad
1.5. Saranth Three
2. Honor's Flight
2.5. Starfall Station
3. Starseers
4. Relic of Sorrows

Lindsay Buroker
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
In the final days of the empire, Cyborg Corps Colonel Leonidas Adler plans to die in a manner befitting of an imperial officer: he will fight until his last breath, giving his life to defend Emperor Markus. As it was meant to be.

But when the emperor himself summons him for a final special mission, how can he refuse?
Thoughts on Last Command: Yasssss. We finally got to see what the final mission Leonidas was sent on entailed. Given the importance of this mission, I can understand why he was so abrupt with Alisa when she stumbled over him in the junkyard.

Also, *sniffle* at all the little hints about...DAMMIT. I can't talk about that. It might give something away.

Frankly, I love being inside Leonidas's head and having some insight into his thoughts. The big guy isn't the most forthcoming with his emotions and seeing them up close and personal in such an intense situation made me want him to find his happy place. (I holding out hope that he's close to fining that happy place with a certain inappropriate captain... well, once he gets that other something taken care of. HOW VAGUE IS THAT?!?!)

I've devoured all the books in this series over the course of a week and I'm loving on it hard. Can't get enough of the sassy captain or her surly cyborg.